SAY YOUR NAME -We like it!

The story is that there was a really pretty nurse named Carolyn, who served where my Dad served as a Pharmacist’s Mate, Third Class —  at the U.S. Naval Hospital at Aiea Heights, Oahu, Hawaii.  Dad joined the Navy when he was 17 – so if he looks young in the picture — well, he was!

When he came back to his hometown in Illinois, there was a new lady at his church that caught his eye – she too was a nurse, very pretty, and they fell in love with each other.  She just happened to be the one who would become his wife, and my Mom.  I was their second child, and since they both liked the name they agreed to call me “Carolyn” !  🙂

Dad in navy - 2

Carolyn

<a href="https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/say-your-name/">Say Your Name</a>

 

14 thoughts on “SAY YOUR NAME -We like it!

  1. Today those young men who go into the military/and go to war look like babies. And your Dad went into the Navy even younger! Wow! 🙂

    Aw, I love this story about your Mom and Dad and how you got your name! 🙂 Such a beautiful, sweet story! 🙂

    It’s long story, but here’s the Reader’s Digest Condensed version of how I was named Carolyn…When my parents had 5 (of their eventual 8) children they met a nun who was very nice to them. My parents were not religious at the time (and they never became Catholics), but when I was born they named me after their friend Sister Carolyn. That’s how I got my name. Interestingly, my family often called me Caroline and Carolina (and other nicknames) more than they did Carolyn. And it’s ironic that I was named after a nun, since I am not nunlike or nunly! 😉 😛

    I’ve only met 4 other Carolyns in my whole life and I’m glad you are one! 🙂

    Yay for the Carolyns!!! 😀
    ❤ and HUGS!!! 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing. My one and only sibling came home from the war and met a gal and married quickly.

    17!!!! I was 17 when I saw my future wife for the first time. She was 15. We are still together.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • Yes, Dad had to have his parents sign for him to go into the service, because he’d finished high school, but was still only 17.
      Our younger son had already spoken to his recruiter at his high school, and so my husband and I signed his papers so that he could be in the Army National Guard while he was in his entire senior year, and then he went to basic right after he graduated. (Like Grandpa, like grandson!)
      Thank you for sharing about your brother and about you.
      I love that you met Norma at age 17, and are still together – happily ever after! 🙂

    • Hi Michel ~ It has been so very long since I have been on Word Press. I just caught up on you more here, but as you know, I am mainly on Facebook. Thank you for keeping in touch with me. I am so appreciative of your friendship, and I love reading your posts, too.
      Love ❤
      Carolyn

  3. Hey! Been thinking about you, Carolyn#1. I continue to pray for you and your family.
    Miss you around here. But, I know life is busy. I only have time to do one on-line-thing, so I choose to blog. I know most people do Facebook.
    But, I just wanted to say “Hey” and to give you some
    (((HUGS)))
    🙂

    • I just came over here (6 months after you wrote this to me). I have missed you and my other friends on WordPress. Many times I have thought of coming back. You’re right! Life is so busy, & it is so difficult to find time for everything one would like to do. I think that I shall have to put up a post to keep in touch with you and other friends made on Word Press. I have so many friends on Facebook, that I mainly do FB.
      Thank you for thinking of me. ((( Hugs))) in return! ❤

Leave a Reply

